DCStreetHockey News

Philly Captures Second City of Origins Title

The 2012 City of Origins Tournament was the 3rd annual event and expanded to 8 teams this year. D.C. had 2 teams, Pittsburgh expanded into 2 this year, Canada, Midwest, Northeast and Philly rounded out the competition. The 8 teams split into 2 divisions of 4 that were set up so that both DC and PIT could be in opposite divisions and the others were drawn out of a hat at the rink. This year's event drew a large sponsorship from Malloy Mitsubishi who donated jerseys for MVP's as well as t-shirts for each games MVP. They also sent reps out with new electric IMEIV and the new Outlander Sport for test drives organized by league veteran Scott MacQuarrie. Thanks Scotty. The other sponsors were The Jackson Clinics Physical Therapy, Powerade and Labatt’s. The tailgating tents were being set up at 7 AM and the parking lot was closed off this year. The weather was cool and perfect with not a drop of rain in the forecast which helped draw the largest crowds so far for this tourney.

The hockey started at 7:30AM with a game between Midwest and Pitt-Denne with Pitt taking the game 4-1 as Ricky Mercurio was voted game MVP. Defending Champion Philly defeated DC-Fish in a hard fought game 4-3 with Brian Billig voted MVP. The 2010 Champs, Canada, took down team Pitt-Wilt 3-0 with Gajan Mahendiran voted MVP. Team Northeast started their COO out with a tough 1-0 loss on a goal in the last minute by game MVP Kevin Roby. Team Philly tied team Pitt-Denne 1-1 on a late goal by Chris Adukaitis from the point off a faceoff win by Wayne Barrett. The MVP was Pitt’s keeper Zach Tardivo who was a force in the crease. Midwest got a big 4-1 victory over DC-Fish behind 2 goals from game MVP Mike “Tarzan” Weissmuller. DC Popkin moved onto the playoffs with a tough 1-0 win over Pitt-Wilt on a goal by game MVP Justin Doyle. The next game had Canada holding off a tough Northeast team 3-2 with a long range dump in as the eventual game winning goal. Dave Leadston was voted game MVP for the Canucks.

The tourney took a half hour break for the 1st annual BreakAway Competition featuring 2 players from each team competing as a unit to try to win for their respective squads. Once the event got going the event really flowed which entertained the players and fans. Team Philly took the inaugural event by scoring on 5 of their 6 breakaways by Jerry Green (3) and Ben Fiorello (2) to beat out the Midwest which connected on 3 of their 6. We are looking into adding a fastest shot event next year. They were both given Mitsubishi hockey jerseys as a prize for their stick work. Now back to some hockey.

DC-Fish must’ve been sleeping during the break as they were run over by team Pitt-Denne 6-0 and Steve Fitz was Given the MVP t-shirt from Mitsubishi. In a must win game for the MW against Philly neither team could muster a goal which was enough for the defending champs to move on and send team MW to the grill with their hockey over for the day. The MVP of the 0-0 tie was Philly keeper George Ward. The NE battled Pitt-Wilt to a 3-3 tie so that neither team was shutout for the day points wise. Adam Zimmerman was the game’s MVP and both teams were finished for the day though the NE probably deserved a better fate. The last game between Canada and DC-Popkin was not played due to both team’s already guaranteed of moving on. Though this was not preferred both captains agreed to do so.

The playoffs started with a game between DC-Popkin and Pitt-Denne. Both teams were allowed to add 3 players from their other team for the playoffs, as stated before the tourney, since both teams had enough guys for 2 teams. DC added Freimann, Insley and Kalender and Pitt added Peich, Skiavo and Wilt. DC came away with a big win and their first trip to the finals 2-0 on goals from Justin Doyle and game MVP, Chris Kalender with honorable mention to Michael Bender. The other semi featured tournament rivals and the past 2 tourney champs, Team Philly against Team Canada. Team Philly scored the first 2 goals from Ben Fiorello and John Hines before Canada tightened it up with a PPG from Raj Sidhu. The game was a battle and Philly held on at the end for a 2-1 victory to knock out Canada for the 2nd year in a row. The game MVP was Ben Fiorello. The finals featured the defending champs versus DC-Popkin ,who were in the championship game for the 1st time. Philly was all over DC from the opening faceoff on goals from Steve Clark, Jerry Green, John Hines and Charlie Mahtesian. DC’s lone tally was scored by Mach for the 4-1 final which gave team Philly back to back titles. The MVP’s of the playoffs were Charlie Mahtesian(MVF) George Ward(MVG), Chris Adukatis(MVD)

The round robin leaders were Wayne Barrett with 5 points, Jake Denne with 3 goals and Zach Tardivo with 3 wins and a 0.33 GAA. John Hines led the playoffs with 2 goals and George Ward led the goalies with 2 wins and a 1.00 GAA

Thanks to everyone involved with the organization of this tournament from planning, getting sponsors, reffing, captaining, etc as we couldn’t make this event so awesome without all of you. Special thanks to Danny Douglass, Scott MacQuarrie, Brian Robinson, Derek Skaggs, Mike Waite, Ted Kolbert and John Norman. We are already looking or more people to help out with planning and ideas for COO ’13 so email me if you are interested as we wanted to make the next one even better than this one. Thanks again…

  Latest News
Wed League
Sun League

Sin City wins 3 games by a goal to take their 2nd D1 Championship

The D1 playoffs started off with long time playoff rivals facing off in the quarters in a game between the 3rd seeded Hitmen...

Mantis Dominates D2 Playoffs After 1st Round Scare

The first playoff game in the Fall '14 D2 playoffs was between 3rd seeded Mantis and 6th seeded Sioux City Sarsaparilla. SCS was the dominant team...

Robocops squeak by 1st Round in a SO before dominating the Draft League

The first playoff game in the Draft League Season 27 featured 3rd seeded Robocops vs 2nd seeded Passover for the Pastrami...